MIS login | Member's area & E-learning
   Home page         About Us         commissions         clubs         safety         news         calendar         links         contact

You are here > Lifesaving Commission

Commissions

Surf Life Saving Association of Wales is the largest volunteer organisation for ocean safety and rescue work in the Principality. Our goal is "to prevent the loss of life through drowning. Becoming a Lifesaver - Anyone can become a member of a Surf Life Saving Club. There are many different forms of membership. If you are aged over 16 and a competent swimmer you can enrol as an active member and train to becoming a lifesaver. To find out more ask at your local surf lifesaving club Training to be a Lifesaver - The volunteer Beach Lifeguards are the unsung heroes of the sea. Their record in of averaging 40 rescues a year, speaks volumes for all their hard work and dedication in providing such a service to the community. These rescues would not be possible unless the lifesavers were trained to be proficient in reading and understanding the sea conditions, rescue techniques, resuscitation, first aid, and had a minimum standard of physical fitness. Therefore it is our task to provide the opportunities for their members to qualify and be continually updated in the areas. Typically throughout the year courses are provided in: Beach Lifeguarding (NVBLQ), Lifeguard Trainer, Lifeguard Assessor, First Aid, Life Support and Inshore Rescue Boats. 

For further information on Lifesaving in Wales please contact lifesaving@slsawales.org.uk



USEFUL CONTACTS

 

Technical Commission Chair

Hugh Murray

e-mail:  lifesaving@slsawales.org.uk

Secretary to Technical Commission

Phil Rees

e-mail:  secretary@slsawales.org.uk

SLSA Wales ~ Development Tutor

Darren Williams

e-mail:  Darren_Williams@rnli.org.uk

Regional Tutor ~ Vale of Glamorgan

Geraint Rees

e-mail:  geraint07@yahoo.co.uk

Regional Tutors ~ Bridgend and District

Kim James

e-mail:  kim.james7@hotmail.com

Gwyn Jones

email:  g.jones25@live.co.uk

Regional Tutor ~South West Wales

Paul Williams

e-mail:  paulkwilliams@ntlworld.com

 

Regional Tutor ~ West Wales and Awards Administrator

Richard Kedward

e-mail:  technical@slsawales.org.uk

 

SLSA Wales Child Protection Officer

Julie Wisden

e-mail:  julie.wisden@sky.com

 

 






IN THE NEWS..

Test Papers
Beach Lifesaver Level 1 (formally Junior Surf Lifesaver) Quizdom Test papers are now online in the Assessment folder in the Members area....
Read more on this article

MBE for Rhondda Club
The volunteers of the Rhondda (Cold Knap) Lifeguard are celebrating after being presented with The Queen`s Award for Voluntary Service (QAVS), the MBE...
Read more on this article

Welsh Champion Pencampwr y Gymraeg
Pencampwr y Gymraeg

Mae SLSA Cymru yn awyddus i hyrwyddo defnydd o’r Gymraeg oddi fewn ein Cymdeithas ac yn chwilio am “Bengam...
Read more on this article

Welsh Championships
Entry packs for the 2017 Welsh Lifesaving Championships are now available for download through the Public Area. Please note, entries are done through...
Read more on this article

Hi-viz vests
Hi-viz vests are compulsory for all competitions and can be purchased from Pat or Liz Thomas, email chair@slsawales.org.uk.

SLSA Wales als...
Read more on this article
Home page
About us
Commissions
CLubs
safety
news
calendar
links

contact us
member's area & e-learning
mis login AREA

© SLSA Wales 2015 | Charity No. 1157762 | Site by webdesignerwales.co.uk